Intensive Transition Services

Intensive Transition Services (ITS) provides person-centered, recovery oriented, and holistic support to individuals who are dually diagnosed with a developmental disability and mental illness, and possibly other co-occurring disorders. ITS Teams are comprised of specialists who understand the complexity of supporting dually diagnosed individuals in the community, particularly those who are transitioning into community-based residential settings from a higher level of care.

The team of specialists includes:
  • licensed program director
  • psychiatrist
  • registered nurse
  • transition coordinators
  • Board Certified Behavioral Analyst (BCBA)
ITS provides an average of 18 to 24 months of intensive treatment with individuals moving through four different phases:
  • Pre-transition
  • Transition
  • ITS Team support
  • Ongoing treatment

ITS supports youth, adolescents, and adults who are identified by Regional Centers to be transitioned from IMDs, or inpatient facilities, to a community-based living environment. The Team utilizes care coordination, evidence-based assessments / treatment modalities, and deliberating responsibilities during transition phases to ensure individuals and their supports are prepared, equipped, and engaged. The Team advocates for the individual’s rights and needs, while providing support to those who will help them in the community. If an individual struggles to maintain community tenure, ITS will provide:

  • staff training/supports
  • education
  • treatment/programmatic recommendations
  • behavioral/physical health wellness interventions
  • additional care coordination
  • crisis intervention
  • hospital diversion
  • other recommendations to reach community stabilization

Where and when are services provided?

Services provided where the individual is at the time of need include:

  • the IMDs
  • Regional Centers
  • Merakey offices
  • community residential placement
  • other local community settings
The Team provides services 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, including crisis/on-call services after normal business hours.

How are individuals referred for services?

Referrals for ITS are determined and completed by the Regional Centers, and then sent directly to Merakey.
The Regional Centers for the Northern California Team are:
  • Alta California
  • Far Northern
  • Redwood Coast
  • North Bay
  • East Bay
  • Golden Gate
  • San Andreas
  • Central Valley
  • Valley Mountain
The Regional Centers for the Southern California Team are:
  • San Gabriel/Pomona
  • Inland
  • San Diego
  • Orange County
  • Harbor
  • Westside
  • Kern
  • South Central Los Angeles
  • North Los Angeles
  • Eastern Los Angeles
  • Frank D. Lanterman
  • Tri Counties

For more information, please contact:

Maria Vargas
San Gabriel/Pomona Regional Center
Phone: 909-764-5479

Deveon Remaker
Alta California Regional Center
Phone: 916-978-6303